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* A review of the structure of the rules of Part 2 (When 
Boats Meet)

* How these rules are applied in practice.
* Questions and scenarios you would like me to cover.
* 1 from Andrew Voysey – at the Leeward Mark
* Port/Starboard at the Windward mark

Topics for Today

John Doerr © 2022



Focus on Part 2
Structure RRS Part 2

Proper CourseGive RoomKeep Clear Avoid/Interfere
(if possible)

10 - Port/Starboard
11 - Windward/Leeward
12 - Astern/Ahead
13 - Tacking

19.2(c) - Overlap at 
continuing obstruction
21.1 - Returning to start,
21.2 - Penalties, 
21.3 - Backwards

15 – Acquiring right of way
16 – Right of way changing 
course
18 – Passing marks
19 - Passing obstructions
20 – ‘Room to Tack’

17 – Not above a proper 
course

18.4 – Inside boat gybing 
at a mark

14 – contact
22 – capsized boat 
(hindering)
23.1– boat racing when 
you are not (in course 
area)
23.2 – boats taking 
penalties or another legOther Rule

18.3 - Tacking in the Zone
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Focus on Part 2
Structure RRS Part 2
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SECTION A
RIGHT OF WAY
A boat has right of way over another boat when the 
other boat is required to keep clear of her. However, 
some rules in Sections B, C and D limit the actions of a 
right-of-way boat.

Keep Clear

10 - Port/Starboard
11 - Windward/Leeward
12 - Astern/Ahead
13 - Tacking

19.2(c) - Overlap at 
continuing obstruction
21.1 - Returning to start,
21.2 - Penalties, 
21.3 - Backwards
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Interaction of Rules using the Leeward Mark as an example

• Which boat must keep clear?

• Blue, she is the windward boat. RRS 11.

• Which boat must give mark-room?

• Yellow, she was overlapped outside boat when the first boat 
entered the zone. RRS 18.2(b).

• Does Blue keep clear?

• No, Yellow has to bear away to avoid contact. So Blue breaks RRS 
11.

• Is Blue sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled?

• Yes. 

• Is Blue exonerated for breaking RRS11?

• Yes. RRS 43.1(b).

• Does Yellow give mark-room?

• Yes. No rule broken by Yellow.



Windward v Leeward Marks

Is Blue entitled to mark-room?

Is Green entitled to mark-room?

Take a look at rule 18.1 where (a), (b), (c) and 
(d) tell us when rule 18 does not apply.

Rule 18 - Mark-Room – (a) ‘does not apply to 
boats on opposite tacks on a beat to 
windward’. So, Blue is not entitled to mark-
room.

This situation is governed by rule 10, port-
starboard.

Yes. Rule 18 applies because at least one of 
them is in the zone around the mark and 
none of the four reasons; (a), (b), (c) or (d) 
are satisfied.
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Definition - Overlap

Checking the Definition – Overlap

Which can be found in ‘Clear Astern – Clear 
Ahead; Overlap’

We start with Clear Astern
• Hull and equipment in normal position
• Behind the line abeam

So, in position 1, Yellow is Clear Astern, 
therefore Blue is Clear Ahead.

When neither are Clear Astern, they are 
overlapped.

In position 2, the gennaker of Yellow is not 
behind the line abeam of the rudder of Blue. 
Neither is clear astern, so the boats are 
overlapped.
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Definition - Overlap

Overlap Downwind on Opposite Tacks

Position 1:

• Neither are clear astern

• Although they are on opposite tacks, they are both 
sailing more than 90 deg from the true wind.

They are overlapped in Position 1 and 2.

Position 3:
• Red becomes clear astern

They are no longer overlapped.

Rule 10 – Port/Starboard applies between them at all 
times.
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Leeward Mark

Approaching the leeward mark.

We think about rule 18 that determines mark-room 
entitlement, as ‘switching on’ and ‘switches off’.

So, approaching a leeward port hand mark, when does 
rule 18 switch on?

When at least one of the boats involved is in the 
zone.

How big is the zone?

3 hull lengths

What if one boat has a longer hull than the other?

It is the hull length of the boat nearer to it.
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Leeward Mark

Now there are three boats.

Which boats are entitled to mark-room from Green.

Rule 18.2(b) requires the outside overlapped boat when the first 
boat enters the zone to give the inside boat mark-room.

Yellow is clearly overlapped inside Green.

Blue is overlapped inside Yellow when Green (the first boat) 
enters the zone.

Boats overlap when a boat between them overlaps both [Clear 
Astern, Ahead, Overlap Definition]

So, Blue is also overlapped inside Green and entitled to mark 
room from Green (and Yellow)
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Leeward Mark

Which boats are entitled to mark-room from Green?

None. 

When Green, the first boat entered the zone, Blue was clear 
astern. Yellow was the outside boat.

Although Yellow overlapped both Green and Blue, she is not 
‘between them’, so an overlap is not created between Green 
and Blue.

As Blue was clear astern of Green, when Green entered the 
zone, rule 18.2(b) requires Blue to give Green mark room –
which may become relevant if she establishes and overlap 
outside Green later.
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Leeward Mark

Which boats are entitled to mark-room from Yellow?

Both Green and Blue were overlapped inside Yellow when the 
first boat (Green) entered the zone.

Blue remained overlapped inside Yellow, when Yellow entered 
the zone.

Yellow is required to give mark-room to both Green and Blue.

The definition of Mark-room, as well as requiring room to leave 
the mark on the required side, also includes the definition 
Room.

The definition Room includes the room needed to comply with 
obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31 [Touching a 
mark]

So, Yellow is required to give Blue room to keep clear of Green 
while Blue is clear astern and then room for Blue to give Green 
mark-room should she become overlapped outside Green.
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Leeward Mark
When the inside boat hits the mark

In this case, Yellow hits the mark, but she could have passed the 
mark without hitting it and while keeping clear of Blue.

So, Yellow breaks rule 31 [Touching a Mark] and the question 
becomes..

Is Yellow exonerated?

Blue has not broken a rule, so rule 43.1(a) does not exonerate 
Yellow.

Yellow is sailing within the room to which she is entitled, but her 
contact with the mark is not ‘as a consequence of an incident 
with a boat required to give her mark-room’, it was a 
consequence of her misjudgement, so rule 43.1(b) does not 
exonerate her.

There was no contact between Yellow and Blue, so rule 43.1(c) 
cannot exonerate Yellow.

Yellow is not exonerated.
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Rounding Leeward Marks
Blue on Port and Yellow on starboard approaching a port hand 
leeward mark. 

Does any boat break a rule?

Until position 3, Yellow is:

• Inside overlapped
• Right of way
• Must gybe to assume her proper course to the next mark

• So, rule 18.4 applies to her.

• Until she gybes, she must sail no further from the mark than her 
proper course – she must go round the mark.

• After she gybes, she becomes the inside, keep clear boat, so rule 
18.4 switches off.

• After gybing, Yellow is still entitled to mark-room and is exonerated for breaking rule 11 provided she remains 
within the mark-room to which she is entitled.
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Port and Starboard at Starboard LM
Blue on port and Yellow on starboard 
approaching a leeward mark to be left to 
starboard.

Is Blue entitled to mark-room?

Yes, she is overlapped inside Yellow.

Does  it matter if Yellow or Blue enter the zone 
first.

No, in this situation, which ever boat enters 
the zone first, switches on rule 18. At that time 
Blue will be overlapped and entitled to mark-
room.
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Room Freely Given

Approaching a port hand leeward mark.

Green and Yellow both keep their spinnakers flying too long 
and make a bad rounding. 

Blue sees the opportunity to take some places and sails 
between them and the Mark.

Does Blue break any rule?

So, we focus on Blue.

At position 1, Blue is the right-of-way boat, rule 11 and when Green enters the mark zone. Rule 18 switches on and Blue is 
required to give both Yellow and Green mark-room. The obligation to give mark-room continues until the boats entitled to 
mark-room  have been given that room.

Blue, just after position 3, becomes clear astern and then becomes windward boat, so is required to keep clear – rule 12, 
then rule 11.

Blue does keep clear, as neither Green nor Yellow need to take avoiding action. Blue does give mark-room as Blue does not 
interfere with the course sailed by either Yellow or Green. So, Blue does not break any rule.
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Room Freely Given

Approaching a port hand leeward mark.

Green and Yellow both keep their spinnakers flying too long 
and make a bad rounding. 

Blue sees the opportunity to take some places and sails 
between them and the Mark, but then Green closes the gap.

Does Blue break any rule? Does Green break any rule?

At position 5, Green needed to take avoiding action, therefore Blue broke rule 11. Blue also interfered with the course Green
was sailing at position 5 to round the mark and so did not give mark-room.

Blue was not inside when the first boat entered the zone, so not entitled to mark-room and is not exonerated for her 
breach of rule 11.

Green altered course as a right-of-way boat and did not give Blue room to keep clear as required by rule 16, but Green was 
sailing within the mark-room to which she was entitled, so is exonerated.
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Windward Mark – Port- Starboard
This time Blue tacks.

Does Blue break a rule?

Yes, Blue did not keep clear while tacking and 
broke rule 13.

She also:

Passed head to wind from port to starboard 
inside the zone of a mark to be left to port.

From that moment they are no longer on 
opposite tacks, so rule 18 now applies

Yellow was on starboard from the time she 
entered the zone

Blue caused Yellow to sail above close 
hauled.

Blue broke rule 18.3
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Windward Mark – Port- Starboard – Rule 18.3
Again Blue tacks.

Does Blue break a rule?

Blue did keep clear while tacking.

However, Blue:

Passed head to wind from port to starboard inside 
the zone of a mark to be left to port.

From that moment they are no longer on opposite 
tacks, so rule 18 now applies

Yellow was on starboard from the time she 
entered the zone

Blue caused Yellow to sail above close hauled.

Blue broke rule 18.3



Thanks for listening.
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